Ugly Table Makeover: In Progress

table1

I’ve sanded down all the places the table-top had split and cracked, and I also filled the holes with spackle. I’ve spent maybe an hour going over this thing from top to bottom, trying to smooth out as many scrapes and dents as I could. I think I’m about as ready as I’ll ever be to paint this thing.

krylon1I picked up a can of Krylon spray paint, in Satin Sea Glass. This color looks like almost an exact match for that minty green baby blanket I’ve been crocheting.

I also tracked down the source for that really cute raindrop wallpaper from the inspiration photo for the table makeover. The wallpaper comes from Spoonflower, and HOLY MOLY… they have the largest selection of prints I’ve ever seen. I spent an hour and a half browsing just the “black and white” results, pinning a few to my Pinterest boards, and then taking a bunch of screenshots, so I could compare swatches side-by-side on my screen without a billion tabs open in my browser.

The wallpaper is going to be adhered to the vertical shelves that separate the two tiers of the table. I’ll have to cut them down to size, which will probably be the most challenging part of this whole project. We’ll see how that goes.

table1Do you have any idea how difficult it is for me to decide which one to pick?! Look at all of these swatches. I think I’m slightly more in love with some of the more abstract and hand-drawn patterns, rather than crisp and neat lines. BUT I CAN’T DECIDE!!!!

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 8.59.14 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 8.59.57 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.02.13 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.05.46 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.06.21 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.07.38 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.08.29 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.14.21 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.16.41 PMIt kills me a little bit that I can’t have ALL of these. Each 12″x24″ swatch is $5. I may just go into the furniture makeover business, purely for an excuse to buy all of these. I think all of these would add some spunk to the table, which is going to be a focal point in the nursery when it’s done.

Leave a Reply

